Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/20/2001 8:14:59 PM EDT
My wife and I are thinking about purchasing a 1998 Volvo GLT V-70.  I have no experience with these vehicles, I have never owned one or worked on one.  I am fairly knowledgable about cars, having rebuilt carbs, replaced heads, trannys, motors, etc., but not these.  It's an in-line 5 cylinder, turbo, motor.  190 HP I believe.

How well do these things hold up?  

Is there anything special I should check?

Are they really as safe as people say?  Anyone here ever wrecked one?

Do they hold their value well?

This one has 47,000 miles on it, and is in great shape.

Finally, does anyone have any experience with carfax.com

Balming
Link Posted: 8/20/2001 8:36:47 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 8/20/2001 8:44:55 PM EDT
[#2]
Balming:
See these folks for your "hot rod" parts [url]http://www.ipdusa.com/[/url] .

Volvos are very safe, second only to Saab.  They hold up very well in a crash. I used to work in a Volvo wrecking yard and can attest to this fact.
My only advice is please, please, please, check the title to verify that it is not a salvaged car. A clue that it might be: low mileage & low/below  KKB list price.
I say this because a Volvo is designed to give its life for yours in a crash, and nobody can repair them to 100%.

Hopes this helps.

Paul
Link Posted: 8/20/2001 9:15:16 PM EDT
[#3]
Thanks for the tips/advice.

How does one go about checking to see if the car has been salvaged?  This one is off a lot and is certified.  Doesn't the dealer have to tell the buyer if the car has a salvaged title?  I am in Alabama, if that makes a difference.  I believe they passed a law here a few years back (it may have been Federal) about disclosing that sort of info.

DK-Prof, how much did yours cost, if you don't mind me asking?

Anyone else?  Even secondhand accounts are OK.

Balming
Link Posted: 8/20/2001 9:22:37 PM EDT
[#4]