Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/11/2006 7:34:16 PM EDT
Ok heres my problem. This room has 4 floodlight fixtures for lighting. Instead of burning out like normal bulbs, these ones "flash out" when I flip the switch on. That's all fine and dandy, except that it trips the circuit breaker everytime. I'm 3 for 3 on them going like this, pissed off is an understatement.
Any idea what could be wrong? Is it the breaker? the switch? the fixtures? We're having an electrician come sometime in the future to work on something else, but I'd prefer to get some leads on this if I can, since there is only 1 more original bulb (that came with the house when we bought it), I'd prefer to prevent another circuit breaker episode.
Link Posted: 4/11/2006 7:40:30 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 4/11/2006 7:46:07 PM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
I'm not an electrician but I'd bet it's the circuit breaker.  They are cheap and easy to replace.  Just be careful.  The hard part will be trying to coax a bulb to blow in order to test it.  

ok, I'll look into it sometime this week I guess. I'm just pissed off cause I had a bunch of unsaved work open in photoshop this time, which, of course, I lost. Hopefully I can get this done with out electrocuting myself.
Link Posted: 4/11/2006 7:48:58 PM EDT
[#3]
It sounds to me like that circuit may have too many lights on it.  Is it a circuit that is only for that room, or does it wind through several rooms first?
Link Posted: 4/11/2006 7:50:58 PM EDT
[#4]
we had something like this happen.  every time we would turn on our shop lights, the breaker would flip.  after a bigger fuse, no more problem.  maybe the same thing is happening.
Link Posted: 4/11/2006 7:54:32 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 4/11/2006 7:56:32 PM EDT
[#6]

Quoted:

Quoted: