Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/13/2006 2:47:31 PM EDT
I'm on spring break this week and as it ends up, the Sgt that usually works nights during the week needs a few days off. I told him I'd take his shifts for him so the next three days I'll be working the 11-7 shift (starting tomorrow night), then on Saturday and Sunday I'll be on the afternoon shift.

Any tips on adjusting schedules like this? I'm 21 y/o and I've never worked overnight shifts before. I did a ride along on 3rd once and I could only sleep for two hours the next day.

Any tips from the nightcrawlers?
Link Posted: 3/13/2006 2:48:14 PM EDT
[#1]

Quoted:
I'm on spring break this week and as it ends up, the Sgt that usually works nights during the week needs a few days off. I told him I'd take his shifts for him so the next three days I'll be working the 11-7 shift (starting tomorrow night), then on Saturday and Sunday I'll be on the afternoon shift.

Any tips on adjusting schedules like this? I'm 21 y/o and I've never worked overnight shifts before. I did a ride along on 3rd once and I could only sleep for two hours the next day.

Any tips from the nightcrawlers?

A variety of pills can help you with your problem.
Link Posted: 3/13/2006 2:49:07 PM EDT
[#2]
Diet Mt. Dew.

Get in the bed as soon as you get off shift.

ETA: Get out of the car every couple of hours and do a foot patrol. Always helped me.
Link Posted: 3/13/2006 2:55:25 PM EDT
[#3]
There are some buisnesses downtown that can be checked on foot, so I'll be sure to get out of the car for that.

I'm really hoping it stays as warm as it says it will be too, that will help.
Link Posted: 3/13/2006 2:58:40 PM EDT
[#4]
When you get off your last 2nd shift before you start your first 3rd shift, stay up till about 0500. It will help you make the transition.
Link Posted: 3/13/2006 3:05:03 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted: