Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
Posted: 2/20/2006 12:58:04 AM EDT
A few years back a bunch of us out in Cali had an ARF.com dinner and some of the kids from the UC Berkeley shooting club showed up. I now work a UC and a group of kids is trying to start up their own shooting sports club and need some help. None of them has been able to contact anyone from UC Berkeley to get some needed info. They figure if Berkeley can have a gun club so can they.

Any help?

TIA
Link Posted: 2/20/2006 2:00:32 AM EDT
The range I believe is underground somewhere. I think Hurst Gym? Maybe another part of the campus but try the ROTC units there. They might have a clue.

Max
Link Posted: 2/20/2006 2:01:12 PM EDT
Thanks. I did not think about the ROTC.
Link Posted: 2/20/2006 7:03:45 PM EDT
I'm a recent UC Berkeley graduate. UC Berkeley has had a number of gun clubs in the past, but none of them seem to have any staying power. I joined one when I was a freshman -- we had one activity and a handful of meetings, and then the club vaporized. If there is currently a gun club, I recommend contacting the Berkeley College Republicans because I'm certain they would know about it.

There IS a shooting range on campus -- it's under Edwards Field. It's only for UCPD use though. I highly doubt they would let a club use it. My roommate's older brother used to have some sort of position in the campus ROTC. If I recall correctly, there are no shooting activities on campus, and shooting is limited to some summer exercises/activities they do out in the woods. Hearst Gym is where the ROTC office is located but there are no ranges there.
Link Posted: 2/20/2006 11:38:07 PM EDT