Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
Posted: 2/16/2006 2:13:49 PM EDT
My name is Steve. I’m a lawyer. I’m a lawyer in Las Vegas Nevada, and I have a Federal Contract. A Federal Contract means that I get paid by the government to defend folks charged with a crime against the United States of America. In Nevada, that means I sometimes defend mobsters, more often illegal aliens. Even more often, illegal aliens doing something further illegal, in addition to being here without papers. They aren’t from here, and they have some pretty strange customs back home, that violate the laws here. Sometimes they just get drunk and do something stupid. You see the crime statistics, but they don’t tell you the story, there is always something more to it. There’s a human side. Sometimes, an inhuman side. Sometimes both. You get a contract by being lawyer, doing criminal law and applying for it. To get this federal contract, I had to get security clearance every 5 years that seemed more like a visit to the proctocologist. The money is all right though.

My secretary shouted out from the front of the office that I had a new client on the phone. Wanted to talk to me. I don’t know how they get my number so fast, most of the time they call me before I even have a file from the authorities. This one I had seen the file the day before. Kidnapping, Abduction, whatever the hell they call it now, bottom line was he took somebody somewhere without them wanting to go. These things always have a story that was way more complicated than the prosecutor would bother to look into. I figured I might as well talk to the guy and get a clue what he thought of the thing. Better than having to drive all the way out to the holding facility at Groom Lake just to watch him cry. Kills a whole day.

“Hello, good morning Mr. Sark, what can I do for you?”

“Sorry, Sar-ek”

“No I can’t get you released, they think you are a flight risk”