Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/18/2006 4:33:10 PM EDT
Okay, I am in the early stage at age 56. Gleason score =6. Last psa = 6.5. One out of 12 samples on my biopsy were cancer. I am considering seed implants or HDR. Naturally I want cured of the disease but I want to maintain a sex life and bladder control. I do manual labor for a living. All opinions and experiences welcome. We can discuss this by regular email if you would like. Click on I/M or email above. I see a good Pittsburgh doc at Shadyside Hospital (UPMC)on January 25th. Looking for a heads up before then.

Thanks, Dave McGrath
Link Posted: 1/18/2006 5:00:44 PM EDT
[#1]
What symptoms lead you to get checked for prostate cancer?
Link Posted: 1/18/2006 5:05:43 PM EDT
[#2]
I can't answer your questions, Mr. McGrath.

But I certainly do wish you a speedy recovery.
Link Posted: 1/18/2006 5:11:10 PM EDT
[#3]
Is a brown ribbon appropriate?
Link Posted: 1/18/2006 5:20:37 PM EDT
[#4]
My dad just underwent the seed implants.  I think he had 88 seeds implanted and it took about 3 hours or so.  He was in recovery for about 2 hours and then went home.  He was sore for about a week and was almost back to normal after that.  The only thing different is he has to urinate more frequently now, mostly due to the medication and the enlarged prostate.

He too was worried about maintaining his sex life and bladder control.  He choose this route because after looking at all of the other options, this one seemed to be the best for him.

If I remember correctly he was a 4 on the Gleason scale and is 55 years old.  I don't remeber what his PSA level was but may have been close to yours.