Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/9/2006 7:05:29 AM EDT
Okay, I think it's time for me to recommend we create a Careers Forum where questions like this, as well as interview advice and contacts can be swapped. Up to the Staff, but it's an idea.

Concerning resumes: I've been out of college for 15 years. LOTS of experience, certifications, education, etc.

So....... Should a resume be one page or not?

There is no way I can fit everything onto one page in a size that can be read, unless everything I've ever learned about resumes is wrong. I have gotten feedback on my current resume that ranges from "Extremely impressive" to "Way too long".

As a hiring manager, I've never been anal about resume length, but I am about clarity and accomplishments. Mine does that well.

So, what sez da hive?
Link Posted: 1/9/2006 7:06:36 AM EDT
[#1]
Why dont we set up a network of shell companies and references too? To help pad the resumes of the employment-challenged?
Link Posted: 1/9/2006 7:07:53 AM EDT
[#2]
You should include all the highlights that would make you stand out from all the other candidates regardless of length, in my opinion.
Link Posted: 1/9/2006 7:07:54 AM EDT
[#3]
If you have the experience and training to justify it, use more than one page. All items should be relevant to the job you are seeking, of course.
Link Posted: 1/9/2006 7:08:37 AM EDT
[#4]
So long as the forum is set up and rigorously moderated to keep out trash, I'm all for it.

Hey, man, we're like family, a lot of us here, political and religious differences aside. We help each other with family issues, kabooms, and dinner pics, why not careers?
Link Posted: 1/9/2006 7:12:28 AM EDT
[#5]
I paid $175 to have somebody write my resume, and it was the best money I ever spent. It's written to appeal to HR-types. The actual decision makers were wooed in person.
Link Posted: 1/9/2006 7:13:26 AM EDT
[#6]