Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 1/2/2006 3:29:39 PM EDT
Now I have seen everything............

www.davesdaily.com/out.php?id=10693&url=www.channelcincinnati.com/irresistible/5250889/detail.html

NEWARK, Del. -- Buying a woman's breast milk via the Internet may seem far-fetched, but it isn't an unusual transaction.

WBAL-TV in Baltimore discovered mothers selling their breast milk -- often for a hefty price. In many cases, transactions require only half of the payment up front, and some sellers even accept credit cards.

Some states ban such sales by law -- but not Maryland. The television station asked Amy and Brandon Redmond why they were selling breast milk.

"Some women can't produce breast milk, and I had a lot of excess," Amy Redmond said. "I thought it would be beneficial."

And then there's the money.

"I'm a physician assistant student, so when I'm in school, I really don't have any particular type of income," Brandon Redmond said.

Amy Redmond said she just sold her milk online for the first time. She expressed shock that she received, within hours, people interested in buying her milk.

Redmond described herself in her post on the auction Web site eBay as a healthy nonsmoker who's also alcohol- and drug-free.

But even she admitted there's no way for the buyer to know that for sure.

"I was very surprised because I thought, 'You don't know me; I don't know you.' It's kind of strange, but I guess you take the chance and hope the person (is honest about their health) because it's going to a baby," Amy Redmond said.

Officials at the Mother's Milk Bank at the Christiana Hospital in Newark, which is among the oldest of 10 such facilities in North America, explained the dangers.

"It's a very dangerous practice because you just don't know what's in that milk," said Donna More, of the Mother's Milk Bank.