Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 12/7/2003 12:07:41 AM EDT
I am a humble 24 year old college student, with a nice collection of guns but not a lot of disposable income. I am an NRA certified rifle instructor and have a C&R FFL, but do not currently work for any firearms-related business. The closest I come is working as a shooting instructor at a summer camp for the last two years.

Friday afternoon I was surprised to find in my mailbox an invitation to the 2004 SHOT Show at the Las Vegas Convention Center. After reading though the fine print, it appears that the show is only meant for industry professionals, and registration requires an FFL, state tax number, or industry-related business card. I can reasonably say that I'm involved in instruction, but I'm not sure if my non-dealer FFL is going to be rejected or not. Furthermore, I'm a little concerned about what might appear to the ATF to be business-related activity with my collecting-only license. Finally, I have a few buddies who works in local law enforcement that I'm sure would love to come along. However, they are simply rank-and-file officers, not involved in training or equipment procurement.

If I send in the $15 per person for early registration, and fill in some reasonably accurate data on the rest of the registration form, what do you think my chances are of being successful?

Poll coming...
Link Posted: 12/7/2003 1:01:54 AM EDT
They'll be glad to have you. I kinda doubt they'll be seriously scrutinizing attendees.
Link Posted: 12/7/2003 1:19:32 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 12/7/2003 1:20:35 AM EDT by wetidlerjr]