Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/23/2003 7:39:57 AM EDT
Have a couple small sections of my house (my house is mainly brick, except for the ends) I want to vinyl side, but don't have any experience with vinyl siding.  Easy to do?  I'm fairly handy and have lots of relatives who are extremely handy, but hate to look like a total bafoon putting the stuff up.  Any suggestions? Thanks.

vmax84
Link Posted: 6/23/2003 7:44:35 AM EDT
[#1]
Once you get the first piece up nice and level, its pretty much all snap on and a few nails.  If you go to any home store, they have pamphlets that show how to do it all.  

Keving67
Link Posted: 6/23/2003 8:05:57 AM EDT
[#2]
It's easy, but start in the back of the house in a spot not seen from the road.
I worked as a vinyl sider for 9 weeks and 10 years later did my house by myself in 2 weeks.
Link Posted: 6/23/2003 8:08:20 AM EDT
[#3]
be sure to make sure the nails are driven in properly. If you drive them in all the way, then the siding will buckle. The instructions should explain it in detail.
Link Posted: 6/23/2003 8:12:42 AM EDT
[#4]
It's as easy a making a peanutbutter and jelly sandwich...

Remember one very important thing.

HANG it, don't FASTEN it.
It expands and contracts with hot and cold temps.
It needs to "float" on the nails.
That's why you'll see slots instead of small holes to put the nails through...

If you nail it fast to the wall, you will get a wall full of wrinkled siding, the first day it gets hot outside...

If I remember correctly, there is marks on the back of the siding showing where to locate the nails depending on the avg temp in your area...
Link Posted: 6/23/2003 1:17:35 PM EDT
[#5]
Thanks a lot.  Looking forward to giving it a whirl (on the back side of the house!!).  Thanks again.

vmax84
Link Posted: 6/23/2003 1:21:00 PM EDT
[#6]
[url]http://www.taunton.com/finehomebuilding/pages/h00110.asp[/url]