Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 6/23/2003 4:58:08 AM EDT
I work as a bail bondsman & our office is right across the street from the Brazos county jail. It was about 3:30 a.m. & I was watching some crap on the history channel, & I heard Officer McGinny on the outside speaker asking is it poisonous? I put the tv on mute, & tried to hear what was being said by the 2 officers in the jail entrance. I could see something long on the ground by the 1 officer, & I assumed it was a rattler based on what I did manage to hear through the glass of my office. I jumped up, & headed out the door, & I asked as I crossed the street if it was a rattler. The officer closest said no it's a scarlet something or other. I looked at it & said a scarlet king snake, & went through the red next to black, your ok jack, red next to yellow your a dead fellow, & satisfied myself it was safe to catch. I asked the cops if I could keep it, & McGinny said sure, take it home over the outside speaker. I couldn't get it close to the head as it keep trying to bite me, so one officer whipped out his collapsible baton & pinned it down for me. I picked up my long desired prize & was about to head back to my office, when a female officer came outside, & when she saw me she said is that a snake? I said yes, & she began to backpedaled rapidly, gun & all hehehe[lol]. To me it seems silly that someone toten a pistol, & baton, who's job is to face dangerous people, are scared to death of the little & slow creature such as a snake. I brought it to the office, & put it in some plastic food container. After it had settled down for a while, I opened the lid to have a look. As soon as it realized it was off it tried to escape but I grabbed it before it could get off my desk, & the little fart bit me on the hand! It didn't hurt, & It didn't bleed at all. I've been bit by garter snakes that were much worse. I would love to keep it as a pet, but ever s