Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/3/2003 1:06:29 AM EDT
I started a new job today.  It sucked hard.  So hard that even my wife agrees that I should give it a week and quit if it does not get any better.  Here is the situation;  
I was a high paid computer tech.  Lost my job and could not get anouther for a long time.  I worked a seasonal at the mall to get by.  Still no work.  Then I landed a job doing data entry.  Basicly data base work for $10 an hour.  First thing when I get their, hey fix the server.  WTF  and it got worse.  During the staff meeting I was asked how to do effective back ups and design a daily plan to back up mission critical data.  Then my opinions on network tapology for a new office being built.  
Did I lose you guys yet?  OK it is because none of the stuff I was asked to do involved typing on a desk.  I figure they got me in as cheap tech support and don't want to pay the consultants the $100 an hour I used to be making.  On top of all this bull shit I am doing billing invoices.  Huh?  
So I think I am being screwed over, and my wife agrees.  I don't want to quit because she supported me the hole year I wasn't working and it's time I helped with the bills no mater what it takes.  
Seriously I just want to get some crap job making beds for a cruse line like carnival or some thing at this point.  Want to be in nature or at sea or something.  My wife is very supportive and I don't care at this point.  Sound like a plan?  I don't even mind leaving Hawaii.  Or am I being a baby?
Link Posted: 6/3/2003 1:14:03 AM EDT
[#1]
This is a widespread phenomenon, from what I've heard, especially in the Bay Area where there are legions of unemployed IT types.  Job descriptions with the most outrageous expectations, in return for peanuts; or even worse; unpaid internships.  There's a whole board devoted to posting the most flagrantly exploitive job descriptions.