Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/26/2003 9:47:43 AM EDT
What are the differences between the two?  I'm still learning about bolt actions; I saw a brand new 700 BDL with a 26" heavy barrel and HS precision stock for around $565 yesterday. It was a good looking gun, but since I was holding out for a PSS I wanted to find out if there would be much difference between the two.  

Any help is appreciated.
Link Posted: 5/26/2003 10:07:53 AM EDT
[#1]
Not much besides markings.

Get teh BDL with much less hassel and have it pillar & glass bedded at McMillian into one of their M40Ax stocks.
Link Posted: 5/26/2003 10:14:52 AM EDT
[#2]
The stock is considerably different.  That is about it.  The contour of the barrel may technically be different but if you are looking at the .308 it won't matter much.

Other than that the actions are identical, assuming you get an older BDL.  The new BDL's have some screwy safety and a j-lock child lock system.

If you get the newer BDL, the safeties may be an issue.

The PSS has the old style lever safety that just flips up and down.

Ed
Link Posted: 5/26/2003 10:15:25 AM EDT
[#3]
Check out the senderos too.
Link Posted: 5/26/2003 10:57:22 AM EDT
[#4]
what are you using the rifle for?? hunting? target shooting??

i happen to have one of the Rem700 LTR chambered in the .223 (1:9 twist with a 20" fluted barrel)  

it's one hell of a little rifle - quite accurate right out of the box too...

check out there other LE rifles here...
http://www.remingtonle.com/rifle/rifle.htm
Link Posted: 5/26/2003 11:09:07 AM EDT
[#5]
It must be the older style, as it had the flip up/down safety.  One thing that was nice was the HS precision stock.  I don't know if or how it was bedded though.

I just want a really accurate tactical rifle in .308 and this fits the bill. But for all practical purposes I will just be shooting paper with it.
Link Posted: 5/26/2003 12:36:41 PM EDT
[#6]