Warning

 

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 5/24/2003 11:15:27 PM EDT
I'm curious how other states stack up. Here in New York, you have to pass a background check, fill out forms, get fingerprinted and register every handgun. Then your application goes to a judge who may or may not let you buy a pistol. Depending on what county and what judge you get, they might say, "For hunting and target practise only" meaning if you're outside your home and you're not on the way to the range, you shouldn't have a handgun. In order to get full CCW, you usually have to have a special reason like, "I tend bar and walk home at 3am with $3000 cash in my pocket." Or "I work for an armored car company" or something like that. Again though, this depends on the judge who reviews your application. Some judges will approve an "unrestricted" permit as a matter of course. So what's you're state like? Please answer: 1. What state you live in. 2. Do you have to be fingerprinted to carry? 3. Do you have registration of handguns? 4. Do you need a special permit to own a handgun? In Pennsylvania, you can buy a handgun like any other long gun, but you need a permit to carry. Here in New York, you can't even buy a handgun without a permit. They treat you like a damn child molester just to buy a damn handgun. What's you're state like? -Nick Viejo.
Link Posted: 5/24/2003 11:20:33 PM EDT
Link Posted: 5/24/2003 11:36:03 PM EDT
yup to all.
Link Posted: 5/24/2003 11:36:23 PM EDT
1. Washington State 2. Yes 3. No 4. No
Link Posted: 5/24/2003 11:37:35 PM EDT
VT, no, no, no.
Link Posted: 5/24/2003 11:38:42 PM EDT
and if you work from 7am-4pm in Michigan, you ca't buy a handgun at all because the town hall is only open for about 3 minutes and you cant get a purchase permit. Keving67
Link Posted: 5/24/2003 11:40:19 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 5/24/2003 11:41:28 PM EDT by 45calmike]
1. Nevada 2. Yes $39 fingerprint fee. 3. Yes handguns only- for sure when purchased through business, not clear if need to for private sale. 4. No, only for CCW
Link Posted: 5/24/2003 11:42:07 PM EDT
1.AZ 2.Y 3.N 4.N
Link Posted: 5/24/2003 11:47:10 PM EDT
Fat chance in CA. They are supposed to be standard forms and procedures but the AG has simply chosen not to enforce that law. Every agency does it differently in this nut-house. Not that it really matters. The only place a mere mortal can get CCW is in some of the rural counties. The only execption to that is Orange County. The Sheriff there is one of the Good Guys and has issued quite a few since he came into office. Oddly enough (at least to the anti's) OC was the only urban county to show a drop in crime last year... gee, I wonder why? CA Fingerprints - yes Registration - yes Permit to own - no (a one time test good for 5 years lets you buy anything you want that's on the "approved" list.)
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 12:13:06 AM EDT
1-Minnesota 2-Dont think so, but we just had MAJOR changes in the law that are good "Shall issue" ect. 3-No 4-No (but you need a permit to purchase from a store or FFL).
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 12:15:03 AM EDT
1. Pennsylvania! 2. No 3. No 4. No Get to apply for my permit in three weeks. Now if only the people who live here would stop voting Democrat so damn often.
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 12:24:48 AM EDT
1. Alabama 2. No 3. No 4. No [img]photos.ar15.com/ImageGallery/IG_LoadImage.asp?iImageUnq=476[/img] [url=www.nra.org][b][red]NRA[/red][/url] [url=www.nra.org][blue]Life Member[/blue][/url] [url=www.gunowners.org][b][red]GOA[/red] [/url] [url=www.gunowners.org][blue]Life Member[/blue][/url] [url=www.saf.org][red]SAF[/red][/url] [url=www.saf.org][blue]Supporter[/blue][/url] [url=sas-aim.org][red]SAS[/red][/url] [url=sas-aim.org][blue]Supporter[/blue][/b][/url]
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 1:23:52 AM EDT
-Virginia -Varies by county (state law allows, does not require, fingerprints). Mine took prints, and then they are destroyed as required by law once verified. -No -No My former state: Massachusetts Yes Yes Yes
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 1:57:06 AM EDT
Oklahoma Yes No No
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 2:19:34 AM EDT
IN Yes No No [b][i]Animadvertistine, ubicumque stes, fumum recta in faciem ferri?[/i][/b]
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 2:51:33 AM EDT
1. Florida 2. Yes, no more than $5 for fingerprint fee 3. No 4. No One thing to note in FL, is if you have a CCW permit, you are exempt from the 3 day waiting period on handguns.
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 3:53:36 AM EDT
1. Colorado 2. Yes 3. No 4. No
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 3:59:05 AM EDT
Hawaii and yes to all. Also I got my whole hands finger printed palms and all.
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 4:01:28 AM EDT
Iowa No No No You do have to get a permit to purchase a handgun, but it is a permit good for one year and any number of purchases. If you have a carry permit, you do not need the purchase permit and there is no NICS check.
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 4:14:59 AM EDT
Michigan yes technically no, they call it a safety inspection no
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 4:26:42 AM EDT
Last I heard the fingerprints are required by the feds to do the background check. Your CCW app is sent to them for accuracy and investigation.
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 4:28:12 AM EDT
West Virginia No No No
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 4:31:34 AM EDT
1. CT 2. Yes 3. Yes. Retail and private sales of handguns require the completion of DPS-67-C and DPS-3C with an authorization number from the State Police. 4. No permit required to own, but either a CCW or Eligibilty Cert required to purchase. -934
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 5:50:31 AM EDT
KEVING67
Originally Posted By keving67: and if you work from 7am-4pm in Michigan, you ca't buy a handgun at all because the town hall is only open for about 3 minutes and you cant get a purchase permit. Keving67
View Quote
Heck here in NY I have to go to the sherrifs dept. in Downtown Syracuse. The permitt office is open from 8:30 to 3:30PM. I have to take time off of work to go. On top of that there is no were to park the city cops and sherrifs take all the spots. I have to park 5 blocks away and walk. And to top it all off if I go pick my gun up after I get my purchase cupoun I have to go home before returning to work. It is a crime for me to bring a firearm to work.
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 6:32:47 AM EDT
1. New Hampshire 2. No 3. No 4. No The carry permit is $10 at the local police department; 2 week processing time. Permit doesn't restrict carry to concealed.
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 6:58:51 AM EDT
Originally Posted By N_Viejo: ... Here in New York, you have to pass a background check, fill out forms, get fingerprinted and register every handgun. ...
View Quote
A coworker of mine is in the process of purchasing his first. (We finally wore him down and moved him from DU to ARFCOM *wink*) My favorite part of his process: Before he can file his application to own a handgun, not CCW - just ownership, he has to actually purchase the firearm. Then he has to wait until his pistol permit is approved before he can take delivery. Talk about yet another way communities are trying to make the process difficult in order to prevent some people from exercising their 2nd admendment rights.
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 9:04:18 AM EDT
1. Idaho (not Iowa, not Ohio) 2. Yes 3. No 4. No
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 10:16:58 AM EDT
1. TN 2. Yes 3. No 4. No
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 10:41:27 AM EDT
Originally Posted By Max_Mike: 1. TN 2. Yes 3. No 4. No
View Quote
What he said.
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 10:47:50 AM EDT
1. Arkansas 2. Yes, the CHL application process requires fingerprints 3. No, handguns are not registered in Arkansas. The CHL training form lists only the type of handgun you qualify with, not the specific model or serial # 4. No permit required to own a handgun, just to carry.
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 12:02:38 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 5/25/2003 12:06:16 PM EDT by Sharkman]
PA/Allegheny County--Pittsburgh Yes No No
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 1:30:43 PM EDT
Originally Posted By Sharkman: PA/Allegheny County--Pittsburgh Yes No No
View Quote
Eh? That's not in the State Law. At least, there's no fingerprints in Centre and Luzerne County, and since it's a statewide thing, sounds like somebody is committing a summery offense.
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 4:04:25 PM EDT
Kentucky No No No We have a Must Issue system. They have to issue a permit unless the is a specific reason not too. All you need is an 8 hour class, hit a B27 target 11 out of 20 times at 21 feet, two photos, and $60. The whole thing takes about a month and the only folks you will see is the class instructor and the Sheriff's clerk.
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 4:39:31 PM EDT
1. North Carolina 2. Yes 3. No 4. No, you only need a permit to purchase, which can be used to purchase a rifle or shotgun as well. Comes in handy when NICS is down. Althought when you get your CCW you can purchase long guns without having to go through the NICS check. Vulcan94
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 5:02:49 PM EDT
1) Oregon 2) Finger Print for CH permit required 3) Not registered, but what do they do with the information when they do an instant check? Type of firearm, serial number, etc. Keep it on file for only 4 years and then destroy it. Right. 4) Special permit not required. CH permit used to allow us to bypass the wait period and fee, but not anymore.
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 5:28:19 PM EDT
1. Ohio 2. No CCW, so question is n/a 3. No 4. No
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 6:06:11 PM EDT
Originally Posted By Spade:
Originally Posted By Sharkman: PA/Allegheny County--Pittsburgh Yes No No
View Quote
Eh? That's not in the State Law. At least, there's no fingerprints in Centre and Luzerne County, and since it's a statewide thing, sounds like somebody is committing a summery offense.
View Quote
Finger prints are required in Delaware County too. I think the Sheriff's justification is in 6109(d) and 6109(e)(1).
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 6:26:38 PM EDT
Louisiana Yes No No
Top Top