Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 8/14/2015 9:11:16 PM EDT
Well after looking high and low for a decent job the past year, I start as an electrical apprentice monday.
What should I expect? What kind of jokes do yall like to play on the new guy?

Going on out on a 6 man crew, me and a second year apprentice, whoever works out better gets to stay perminently.
Link Posted: 8/14/2015 9:16:40 PM EDT
[#1]
Work your ass off. If a guy has experience respect him. and LEARN.

And above ALL else...
Don't get the nickname, SPARKY.
Link Posted: 8/14/2015 9:17:35 PM EDT
[#2]
Shocking
Link Posted: 8/14/2015 9:19:55 PM EDT
[#3]
Good luck!
I was a first year apprentice in 1980. I had to address the Journeymen as "Mr".
It's a great trade.
Link Posted: 8/14/2015 9:21:41 PM EDT
[#4]
Go see if that is hot
Link Posted: 8/14/2015 9:21:59 PM EDT
[#5]

Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

And above ALL else...

View Quote
Electricians are all sparkys.

I give my apprentices nicknames. They're all "kid" until I think up a good one.

Some of my better selections include Buckshot, Country Fried, Jackson, Willie, Noodle, Weasel, Soup Bone, and Stimpy.
Link Posted: 8/14/2015 9:22:22 PM EDT
[#6]
You're gonna love pulling wire through conduit!
Link Posted: 8/14/2015 9:22:38 PM EDT
[#7]
Two eyes and one mouth. Use them proportionately.
Link Posted: 8/14/2015 9:24:42 PM EDT
[#8]
Keep your mouth shut and ears and eyes open.

If you don't have something to do, grab a broom and start cleaning.

Don't try to do something you don't know without guidance

Try to buy one tool a week, don't buy junk. Klein, knipex, or other name brand shit.

NEVER assume that the power is off, verify

Link Posted: 8/14/2015 9:26:55 PM EDT
[#9]
Quoted:
You're gonna love pulling wire through conduit hole hogging !
View Quote

Link Posted: 8/14/2015 9:26:56 PM EDT
[#10]