Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
Posted: 9/23/2002 3:40:43 PM EDT
I'm sort of thinking about joining the military. All the jobs I see require experience. I was lazy and didn't get an internship my last year of college so I have no experience. I don't think 6 months of troubleshooting Sony computers counts. so, what do you all know about military jobs for CS majors? So far I know that my degree will get me into OCS, which is a plus (better pay), but what types of jobs are available? I'm hesitant to directly contact a recruiter due to the fact that they'd then start calling weekly (they used to do that when I didn't show any interest in joining) Thanks for any info.
Link Posted: 9/23/2002 3:47:23 PM EDT
Well..... Odds are unless you join the military, you aren't going to work for them directly. Your best bet is to find a company that is contracted by the US Govt. I work in a Computer facility (USAF). We have very few GS employees. either you are military, or a contractor. What field exactly is your interest? If you don't look for specifics, you'll get stuck working at a help desk or something. We have a few security folks, but you have to be pretty sharp to get that type of job.
Link Posted: 9/23/2002 4:12:23 PM EDT