Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/7/2002 11:49:38 PM EDT
About Firearms…
I remember back in boy scouts when I first shot a real rifle.  Everyone was lined up and just couldn’t get enough of it.  Looking back on it makes me wonder if the instructor would have brought AR15s instead of the 22s what thinks would have been like…  I know the AR15 doesn’t have much kick and we were shooting form the bench so it makes me think if it would have been a good idea to bring AR’s instead of 22s.  

So what do you guys think, I know the 22s would be cheaper but it would make that day extra special if they shot an AR [;)]
- Sulaco
Link Posted: 5/8/2002 12:02:50 AM EDT
[#1]
Well as far as bringing the AR into the Boy Scouts thats a no no by policy. Im a BSA instructor and do run the local camp range for the summer. We are restricted to single shot non semi auto rifles. Now there are no restrictions in the Venture crews though. We can hunt and shoot pistols and everything.
As for haveing the AR for training purposes, I would say it would not be beneficial to training, fun factor yes. But for a first time shooting its much easier to monitor the weapons on the line with a bolt gun. plus the kids would not be able to focus if they saw the weapon in their hands. I get enough questions form kids who know only what they play in video games
Mainly:
Desert Eagle
"50 Cal Sniper Rifle"
I say stick with the basics
Link Posted: 5/8/2002 12:16:18 AM EDT
[#2]
I will be a shooting sports instructor at a local Scout camp this coming summer.

The Rifle Shooting merit badge requirements are strict when it comes to metallic cartridge rifles - they must be .22lr, single shot, or have any kind of ammunition reservoir modified so that only one cartridge can be loaded at a time.