Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 4/21/2002 3:04:39 PM EDT
Man, we need a puter forum on this site. :) I need to run about 100' of cat5 under the house for a home network. The distance is probably less than 50 feet, but I want plenty of slack in both the source and destination rooms. Anywho, what's the deal with 5e? Is it shielded or just more fault tolerant than standard cat5? Please forgive me, I'm a software engineer, not a network engineer. :)
Link Posted: 4/21/2002 3:35:28 PM EDT
Don't worry about the 5e, go ahead and run the CAT5. CAT5 can support 100Mb up to 100 meters, so distance in your situation will not be a factor. Try to avoid AC power lines, but if you must get within 2-3 feet of one do not run parallel to it, and be sure to cross it at a 90 degree angle to reduce the effect of EMI. The stuff is almost sailor proof / Marine resistant. Make sure you crimp the connectors on correctly and you should have little to worry about. D the (MCSE,CCNA,CCDA,CCNP,NNCSS, butwhogivesacrapaboutallthosefunnylettersanyw­ay) Peacher
Link Posted: 4/21/2002 3:45:18 PM EDT
Assuming you are going with a 10/100baseT.. (?) From what I know at work, 5e is higher performance (lower losses(attenuation) than 5. For the distances you are running, the CAT5 should serve your purpose just fine (the 5e will be a little bit more expensive (?..I don't buy it, company does), it meets a higher standard than 5) [b]If[/b] the cost is negligable, go with the better, 5e. Another note, If you are going to be using or upgrading to[u]1000[/u]baseT, go 5e.
Link Posted: 4/21/2002 4:12:18 PM EDT
Go with 5E, it will allow you to upgrage to gigabit ethernet when the time comes. I am running cat 5E in my new house for data and phone. Av. (CNA, CNE, MCSE, A+, Network+, MCSA, CCNA)
Link Posted: 4/21/2002 4:28:42 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 4/21/2002 4:40:18 PM EDT by mattja]