Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/11/2006 12:54:57 PM EDT
ok, so i've had my bike now for about 2 months- i seem to be getting more freaked out everytime i ride the thing.  this is an older bike that i bought and fixed up,  i'm finishing up my airframe and powerplant mechanic's license this spring- so it's not the work i've done, as i'm a proficient mechanic.  after i fixed it up i enjoyed it immensly- rode it every chance i got.  now it's just plain scary to me.  i took the msf basic rider course- i think i'm a safe rider- i try to minimize risk and constantly scan ahead.  i practice what maneuvers i don't feel good about in a parking lot until i'm ok with them.  i don't feel like anything is especially lacking in my riding technique (other than lack of experience).  anyways- just wanted to see if this was normal for a new rider or not.  i've probably left something out- so feel free to ask.  thanks
Link Posted: 1/11/2006 1:02:30 PM EDT
[#1]
trust your feelings.

Get rid of the bike.

Really, not a joke.

I used to ride as well.  Rode a friends bike a year ago or so and thought, nope, just not a smart thing to do anymore.

TXL

Link Posted: 1/11/2006 1:05:03 PM EDT
[#2]
I see nothing wrong with your fear.  You've only been out there for 2 months.  There are a lot of idiots out there that can kill you without thinking.  You have to watch for them since they sure as hell aren't watching for you.  When you lose your fear is when you'll get in to trouble.  You'll take stupid risks that really aren't worth taking and it will cost you or someone else.  By the way, please don't tell me your first bike is a R1 or something.  That would scare the hell out of me and I've been riding for 2 years now.  Every time I throw a leg over my CBR-600 it scares me just a little.  Kind of like the fear of the unknown.  MJD
Link Posted: 1/11/2006 1:06:21 PM EDT
[#3]