Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 9/8/2010 9:14:10 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/8/2010 12:47:27 PM EDT by TxLewis]
Anyone know the penalty for converting an IRA to cash?

Currently, I have some money in an 401k that is with my old employer.

I want to move it to an IRA (rollover type)

Then I am gonna make it a bit more liquid. (I have a degree in Fin, yes, I know it's against conventional wisdom)

So PLEASE, do not waste one post telling me not to do this.

Please please post what you know about the tax penalties, and any recommended IRA firms that can help accomodate this.

Thanks

TXL
Link Posted: 9/8/2010 10:34:18 AM EDT
I believe it is the full taxes on the amount plus a 10% penalty.
Link Posted: 9/8/2010 10:56:34 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/8/2010 10:57:10 AM EDT by ReflectionsBurn]
converting to cash that you are going to pull out of??

to roll it over there is no tax or penalty, can even be in a cash account wherever you roll it over too (money market, cd, cash acct, etc...) and still be labeled as an ira

penalty occurs when you take the premature distribution which is 10% plus whatever your tax bracket is...just about any firm out there can facilitate an ira rollover...usually however 401k plans do require their own paperwork which is usually available through human resources at your former employment
Link Posted: 9/8/2010 11:31:20 AM EDT
I am over 59 and one half yrs old and retired. When I retired last year I rolled my 401k over to self directed roll over IRA. Because of all this talk about confiscation I cash mine out last week. No 10% penalty, just full taxes on the amount. If you delay on paying taxes till next year there is a penalty according to my CPA. I don't know how much it would have been. Had the people that had my account deduct the taxes.
Link Posted: 9/8/2010 12:47:14 PM EDT
thanks all
Link Posted: 9/8/2010 7:47:05 PM EDT
Originally Posted By Paps-Zapf: