Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/17/2006 6:08:54 PM EDT
I've been studying TKD for a few years now but am having to stop because of problems with one of my knees.  I've managed to tear the meniscus and damage the cartilage in my right knee and will probably have to have surgery later this year to fix it.  The doctor has said that all of the low stances in TKD probably contributed to the injury and I will not be able to do any stance that involves placing a lot of weight on my knee in an awkward position after the surgery.

Is there a decent martial art out there that:

- teaches useful self defense techniques
- provides a good work-out
- doesn't involve a lot of stances that put a lot of strain on the knees

Jujitsu perhaps?
Link Posted: 2/17/2006 6:24:47 PM EDT
[#1]
We had a guy who had arthroscopic surgery and returned to get an aikido shodan.

Still some low stances but not as hard on your body;  footwork similar to swordwork.

With TKD you have a lot of the striking work already so some joint manipulation and throws will be a useful complement.  Check out aikido - just make sure it's closer to aiki jujitsu, the precursor art - some aiki gets very airy fairy.
Link Posted: 2/18/2006 3:56:34 PM EDT
[#2]
I would get a second opinion.  There's been guys that have come back from complete ACL tears and surgery and were able to compete at a high level.  Former UFC champ Tito Ortiz had an ACL tear/surgery/rehab and was able to come back and fight again competitively.

I'm not saying to disregard your Dr.'s advice, but I'm not sure how familiar some of them are with martial arts.  Maybe see a sports Dr. for a second opinion.  Nothing wrong with learning other styles, but I would hate to see you give up years of TKD based on what a Dr. said, especially if it's not necessary.  
Link Posted: 2/19/2006 12:07:46 PM EDT
[#3]