Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 5/6/2002 8:20:04 PM EDT
Do you practice Wang Lang Chuan Fa? I just happened to notice your username. I have practiced Wang Lang Kua Shu and Kwang Tsai Juk Lum for over twenty years. I am also a board member of the Traditional Martial Arts Association. Any chance you are in South Florida?
Link Posted: 5/7/2002 2:22:23 PM EDT
SteyrAUG, My username comes from one of the first systems I studied - Ba Bu Tang Lang (8 step preying mantis). The system I received my black belt in is Shichi Tora Do, a Karate system with a heavy preying mantis kung fu influence. I was born in south Florida, but spent most of my life up north. However, we did spend last week at WDW in Orlando. As you probably know, it was 90 to 95 degrees every day. To someone like me who now thinks 65 degrees is a heat wave, it was a killer.
Link Posted: 5/7/2002 5:33:32 PM EDT
Figured as much. I am familiar with 8 Step but never formally studied it. My primary Wang Lang(Tang Lang) system is Seven Star. And please it is "Praying" not "Preying" Mantis. Despite the cool implication.
Link Posted: 5/7/2002 7:21:02 PM EDT
Originally Posted By SteyrAUG: And please it is "Praying" not "Preying" Mantis. Despite the cool implication.
View Quote
SteryAUG, You're right, I'm not sure how I screwed that one up after all these years. Seven Star is the other Praying Mantis system I have some experience with. Are you familiar with any of these forms ? Sau Bau Tang Lang Cha Gee Chun Bung Bo Tang Lang Tou Toe Mai Far Sao There may be some spelling variations, but they translate to: Mantis takes first step Spear hand Bouncing step Praying Mantis steals the peach Plum Blossom hand I curious to know if Seven Star is taught the same in different parts of the country.
Link Posted: 5/7/2002 9:01:46 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 5/7/2002 9:09:03 PM EDT by SteyrAUG]