Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/6/2015 6:30:01 PM EDT
I'd like for this to be a collection point for tips, tricks, and practical advice on reading wind.

I'm just starting to shoot 5.56 at 750, so I am NOT a pro yet. In fact, that's why I'm came here looking for just this sort of thread. I know how to get my elevation right were it needs to be, but thus far have about 0% chance of a first round hit because of my utter lack of wind reading ability. I observe strikes and can adjust and make hits, but I've reached the point where I feel that if I'm not practicing my wind reading skills before/as I do this, then I'm just spending ammo for grins.

So, to kick things off, the why:
http://precisionrifleblog.com/2015/05/14/how-much-does-wind-reading-ability-matter/

And what looks like a good start on the how:
YouTube:  SNIPER 101 Part 31 - Wind Corrections (1/2) - Rex Reviews

I'd really like to see more in-depth talk about reading mirage. Like Rex points out in the video above, the drawings in FM-23-10 don't really tell me much. I've observed it at the range, but don't really know how to classify/measure it and what calculations to use to get a wind reading from it.

I look forward to the advice of the more knowledgeable and putting it into practice in the coming months.
Link Posted: 11/6/2015 6:56:01 PM EDT
[#1]
Great thread here for 175gr 308 on doping for windhttp://www.ar15.com/forums/t_16_1/2133_Wind_Formulas.html

Txl
Link Posted: 11/22/2015 12:32:55 PM EDT
[#2]
Originally Posted By FlatDarkEarth:
I'd like for this to be a collection point for tips, tricks, and practical advice on reading wind.