Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/5/2015 10:55:50 AM EDT
[Last Edit: sdboy]
First, I am a novice to the precision game. I ran into something interesting to me this weekend. I took out my new Rem long range 300 win mag to sight in. I have no room to reload yet so I am stuck with factory ammo. I started with hornady superformance. The shop only had one box of 180s so I figured its a start. Went back and started dialing in. 3 shots and I was where I wanted to be. In an effort to conserve ammo I shot 3 3 shot groups. 2 groups had all 3 shots touching and 1 had a called flyer but still under an inch. Alright im a precision shooter. I wasted the rest on tannerite and went to another town to pick up more ammo so I could shoot some 5 shot groups. All they had was fusion in 300 180 grain. Mistake. I went back and despite my best efforts my best group was just over an inch and a half. Average being around 3 inches. I hold better groups than that with my .17 out the truck window.That took the wind out of my sail. I couldn't get any 3 out of the 5 to even go 1.5 inches.I knew factory isn't tack driver ammo but damn.Lesson learned.
My question is, what factory ammo would be capable of 1 moa? I want to run a few different loads through but im not seeing many choices in 300 win mag. At 30 to 70 a box I would like some opinions before I waste more money. Im going to lead sled the rest of the fusion for piece of mind that I am really not that bad and save the brass. Im starting to think this is why I see so many used precision guns for sale at the gun shop. I can't be the only noob that made this mistake.

Link Posted: 7/5/2015 10:59:17 AM EDT
[#1]
It depends on your rifle

Getting small groups isn't cheap.

You can get a small single stage press if you have lottle room and little money
Link Posted: 7/5/2015 11:29:09 AM EDT
[#2]

Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By zackmars: