Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
11/20/2019 5:07:11 PM
Posted: 11/2/2009 5:06:31 AM EST
Just thought I'd share my weekend events on here. I will preface this by saying I am quite new to bow hunting (crossbow) and This is my first season to actually hunt with one. We have a small spot of land on a mountainhere that is teeming with deer I decided to buy a crossbow and take advantage of the early bow season. I practiced for about a week with the bow and I became a great shot with it and was starting to get the hang of estimating distance. I was keeping 3" groups at 40 yards and I was finally ready (I thought) to go in the woods.

After an uneventful Friday night in the woods, I headed out Saturday afternoon with great optimism. After about an hour, I see some movement out of the corner of my eye and see a doe and young deer (not spotted, but obviously this years young) She sees me bring my bow up and stops approx 25 yards away, broadside and I have a window approx 10" wide between trees to shoot through. I had to crane around sideways to get the shot, I line up, pull the trigger and watch the arrow smack the side of the tree and go get deflected way off target. I was craned so far sideways and in my excitement I didnt make a concious enough effort to keep still during the followthrough and I kicked it to the side.