Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
PSA
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 8/24/2015 7:48:50 PM EDT
cross posted from SF

Yeah, I'm a Ham Radio Operator...and I Podcast about it.  
My Podcast is titled Fo Time, I invite you to listen

But this is the reason I posted this thread:

Here are 2 Podcast I encourage you to listen to regarding the Fires Burning in WA state.  First Hand Accounts of Bugging-Out and communicating during such moves.

http://www.radiofreeredoubt.com/2015/08/23/episode-15-27-washington-wildfires-interview-prepper-lessons-learned-first-hand/

http://partisanradio.podbean.com/e/partisan-radio-volume-17-23-august-15-amrron-wildfire-deployment-debriefing/

FWIW, we have a pretty awesome Ham Radio forum here on Arfcom

if you're interested in learning moar about Ham Radio check out my Where to Start Guide.
View Quote
Link Posted: 8/24/2015 9:09:03 PM EDT
Anybody have the "Cliff Notes" version of this? I really don't have the patience for podcasts if I can read the salient points in under a minute
Link Posted: 8/24/2015 9:59:37 PM EDT
Ham Worked when nothing else did......
Link Posted: 8/24/2015 10:00:00 PM EDT
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By aa777888-2:
Anybody have the "Cliff Notes" version of this? I really don't have the patience for podcasts if I can read the salient points in under a minute
View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes

https://www.amrron.com/2015/08/24/black-echo-operations-real-world-disaster-application-conconully-wa-wildfires/

Mission of Black Echo Broadcasters:

1.  Inform the citizens of developments, public service announcements, and safety information

2.  Reinforce a sense of ‘connection’ in the community

3.  Encouragement and sense of ‘normalcy’

Source of information:

1.  VHF Ham Radio Repeaters reporting real-time intelligence on fires, road closures, evacuations, routes, etc.