Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 9/10/2013 11:14:53 AM EDT
Every time I try to save a dollar I end up regretting it, and this time is no different.   BUT, maybe you can help me.

I bought a FT-100D on ebay and it isn't working correctly.   I can make contacts but people cannot hear me very well.    Today I went and bought a wattmeter and the radio is only putting out between 5 and 15 watts, and that is only if I yell into the mic pretty loudly on USB and LSB on HF.  2m works great.   The internal adjustment for HF Power is set to 100 and mic gain is set to 50.    Is anyone familiar enough with these radios to know if there is a setting that isn't correct and is causing the problem?    Maybe something simple that I just don't know about?    I'm still really new to radios in general.

I know buying on eBay is a risk, but I've had close to 80 transactions and all of them have been good except for this one.   There are no returns, unfortunately.   Does anyone happen to know if I can get any of money back through eBay or Paypal or am I just SOL?

Waiting to hear back from the seller.
Link Posted: 9/10/2013 11:21:48 AM EDT
How many watts is it putting out on HF FM or CW?
Link Posted: 9/10/2013 11:31:25 AM EDT
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
View Quote

+1 on this excellent question.
Link Posted: 9/10/2013 11:31:31 AM EDT
Quoted:
View Quote

FM on 20M is right near 100 watts, I just checked.   Can't get a reading on the meter with CW.    Still trying...
Link Posted: 9/10/2013 11:35:21 AM EDT
Quoted:

FM on 20M is right near 100 watts, I just checked.   Can't get a reading on the meter with CW.    Still trying...
View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:
Quoted:

Hold the key down, if using a paddle, put the rig in straight key mode and press the key and take the reading. HTH
Rob
Link Posted: 9/10/2013 11:48:37 AM EDT
Quoted: