Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 10/26/2013 8:08:25 AM EST
Does anykne know how, exactly, this was accomplished?
I didn't think the 7200 had an IF output. Couldn't find any info about this setup online and the video is...well...less than self-explanatory.

Link Posted: 10/26/2013 1:37:15 PM EST
That's pretty cool!

(I'm still studying for my license, so all this ham stuff is cool, but spectrum display is really cool.)

Joe
Link Posted: 10/27/2013 12:01:38 AM EST
I dunno how he did it, but that's cool as heck.

He mentions down in the comments section:

"alexdavydofMar 23, 2012
Hi! I do not use additional devices. ic-7200 is? synchronized with a? HDSDR via omnirig. Works great on one antenna in parallel. Sync works better via SDR_navigator. 73!"

I found this: http://www.dxatlas.com/OmniRig/
Link Posted: 10/27/2013 12:12:03 AM EST
Link Posted: 10/27/2013 4:16:42 AM EST
[Last Edit: 10/27/2013 4:17:09 AM EST by aa777888-2]
I'm pretty sure what this guy is doing is using an SDR radio and a 7200 together, in other words, no, you can't do this with a 7200 alone. What he appears to be excited about showing off in the youtube video is the ability to have the tuning of the 7200 drive the tuning of the SDR using Omnirig and HDSDR together. This is indeed a great way to go about the problem of instantly and conveniently transmitting back to a station that you have tuned in on the SDR.

I know that PowerSDR also has a similar feature, but I believe that one has the transmitting radio track the SDR, which, quite frankly, makes the most sense to me as the transmitting radio is almost an afterthought compared to the SDR receiver and software.
Link Posted: 10/27/2013 5:56:06 AM EST
I know VE4NSA configured his IC-7600 to work with a SDR dongle. I thought about trying this, but didn't want to take the chance on messing up my rig.