Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/18/2010 5:37:41 PM EDT
I'm gonna get a canoe so I can teach my kids the basics of surviving on your own.  I think the best way to learn these skills is by being out there where you can't just drive back and get something.  

So, tell me what I need to look for in a canoe.  Poly, fiberglass, aluminum?  How long for a minimum?  I have two young boys, ages 7 and 4.  I know the wider the canoe the more stable it will be, but what should I watch out for?  

I've found a Mad River 14 ft. canoe on craigslist with 3 jackets, oars, two seat backs that has only been used once for $550.  Is that a pretty good deal?  I kinda think it's a little short, but I'm no expert.  All the canoes I've been in have been about 17 ft. long.  

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Link Posted: 7/18/2010 5:53:42 PM EDT
[#1]
tag
Link Posted: 7/18/2010 5:58:58 PM EDT
[#2]
So is the other thread the real one...
Link Posted: 7/18/2010 6:01:43 PM EDT
[#3]
Not sure what you mean.  They are the same.
Link Posted: 7/18/2010 6:19:12 PM EDT
[#4]
Aluminum can be tough, but its cold, loud, and heavy.  They are my least favorite.  Poly isn't light but generally speaking, its near indestructible.  Its  good choice for a rough duty canoe.  Fiberglass is difficult to pin down.  The usual low cost, low quality chopper glass canoes are crap.  They are slow, weak and heavy. A good laid glass canoe (visible cloth glass) can be a pleasure.