Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
11/20/2019 5:07:11 PM
Posted: 7/29/2009 12:13:11 PM EST
[Last Edit: 7/29/2009 12:15:58 PM EST by Topper1]
I'm considering purchasing a climbing stand this year for bow hunting.

The one I'm looking at has a safety rail on it. I have never used a climber before.

Am I asking for trouble trying to bow hunt out of a stand like this?

EDIT: Just saw the bow hunting section. Gonna post over there too. Thanks for looking.
Link Posted: 7/29/2009 1:04:44 PM EST
[Last Edit: 7/29/2009 5:14:54 PM EST by supremeweasel67]

Originally Posted By Topper1:
I'm considering purchasing a climbing stand this year for bow hunting.

The one I'm looking at has a safety rail on it. I have never used a climber before.

Am I asking for trouble trying to bow hunt out of a stand like this?

EDIT: Just saw the bow hunting section. Gonna post over there too. Thanks for looking.

Bow hunting from a climber is a good thing.
It gives you the option to relocate in order to be in the right place at the right time, if the deer deviate from the pattern you have been watching.

As for the shooting rail, I have never had one on my climber, but could see both the good and bad of having one.
I have a API Grand Slam Extreme, and you really don't want to fall asleep in that thing, or you might nose dive out of it.
ALWAYS were a safety harnes ( The first time the teeth on the stand slip, you will understand).
Shooting rail could cause some close in shots to be impossible. Pratice from stand prior to hunting.

If your climber use the "Key Pins", make sure you have some spares in your pocket/kit bag. (The higher you climb, the smaller the tree gets. So you readjust the "chain" and accidently drop a pin. NOW WHAT?) That is the reason for the extra pin.
Link Posted: 7/29/2009 3:49:47 PM EST