Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/14/2011 9:23:44 AM EDT
I've been looking at cheap laptops for dedicated ham use.  Does anyone use one of these or one similar for Ham Radio Deluxe and the digi modes? I would be using it for internet surfing and basic stuff, no gaming. Any reccomendations in the $350 range?
Link Posted: 6/14/2011 9:31:44 AM EDT
[#1]
I am NO computer expert...but the repair guy who rent's space in the same bldg as my wife says he sees less Toshiba's come through his shop than the rest.  So I bought my wife a Toshiba for $329!

It's here

that was back in January, and we've been really pleased so far.  

I'd guess you may need to go back to XP from the 7 that is installed???

anyways, for $329 it seems to be GTG.  I'm still using my 8y/o Dell Insprion 8600
Link Posted: 6/14/2011 10:42:37 AM EDT
[#2]
I'm using a 5 yr old Toshiba in my new shack. I shut down most of the applications and services that arent necessary and take up memory. I plan on using it only for Ham stuff and email.
I like the Toshibas but my current go to laptop is an HP that I got from the XYL when she upgraded. The HP hosts all my memory hungry programs.
Link Posted: 6/14/2011 10:53:34 AM EDT
[#3]
Thanks guys. I plan on eliminating all the "extra" software on it. It seems all the bad reviews of the cheap laptops have to do with them being slow due to the bloatware installed on them. I just want this for ham radio apps and maybe some ballistics software, nothing too involved like CAD or gaming etc. The nearest Office Depot is in Tucson, 80 miles away but there is a Best Buy and Office Max close by. Going to do some more research and maybe have a new laptop for Field Day!
Link Posted: 6/14/2011 11:04:24 AM EDT
[#4]
I have a cheap toshiba $300. I hate it as a computer, but for radio it works just fine. newegg usually has a cheap laptop or one that is normally 500 for 300

Posted Via AR15.Com Mobile