Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 7/22/2013 8:49:18 PM EST
I've seen this referenced a few times in the past, but I don't have the ability to search, so please forgive me if this has been discussed before. If there is existing thread already on point, please direct me to it.

Regardless, I've been thinking about this kind of training, but have some hesitation given that it seems to be a FEMA program. Maybe my tinfoil is a bit tight, but I don't want to be on any more FEMA lists than I already may be.

But the training seems beneficial, not only on a personal level for my family, but also for our fairly large neighborhood if some of the other neighbors took it.

Would appreciate your insights on this type of training, both pros and cons.

What types of things do you learn? Length of training? Cost? Obligations after training in the event of an emergency? (I'm not a professional first responder and don't want to be one - whether professional or voluntary. My first priority in an emergency is my family. After the family is secured and squared away I'll move outward. But not until then).

If there is truly a SHTF scenario, it would seem beneficial to the entire community to have many trained and with the ability to take the lead, so my thought in this is that I wouldn't be the only participant, but would enlist other members of the community to also take the training.

You guys have such a wealth of experience in this area and I would appreciate your thoughts.
Link Posted: 7/22/2013 11:47:45 PM EST
I joined up with my local CERT, but lost interest pretty rapidly. It was me and my wife, in our 20's, and... everyone else was old enough that they could barely walk, let alone respond to emergencies. Nice group, but it was basically just an excuse to get together and gossip about what was going on around town.
Link Posted: 7/23/2013 12:33:58 AM EST