Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/9/2007 9:29:00 AM EDT
I'm looking around for some high quality bolts and heads. What are some of the better brands and styles? What's the consensus on those heads that open up on impact? They look pretty cool.

I'm pretty new to crossbows, ao any advice would be great. The crossbow is a Horton that shoots at 320 fps, and has a 175 lb. draw weight.  
Link Posted: 8/9/2007 10:39:41 AM EDT
[#1]
I dont shoot crossbow and dont know about there bolts but as for heads i shoot Muzzy 100 gr. w/4 blades.They are the best and will never use any other heads...EVER!!!hot
Link Posted: 8/10/2007 10:47:09 AM EDT
[#2]
I buy Laser II bolts from Lancaster Archery supply in Pa, takes 2 days to arrive here UPS. They'll custom make anything and carry around 5 types of bolts. I've been using NAP Shockwaves 100gr. (mechanicals)for the last few years. Also I have used Wasp and Muzzy fixed blades. Theres no magic broadhead, any quality head that is Sharp will do the job,shot placement is everything.

Some heads are easier to tune and will shoot very close to field tips. Just remember to actually test your hunting heads for point of impact. I've shot some heads that shoot a hell of alot different than field tips. Keep'em razor sharp!

With your Horton make sure you use bolts with the Moon style knocks, total bolt weight with head should be around 425gr. or heavier with your Horton. I own Excaliburs and shoot the flat knocks and around 400gr. total bolt weight.
Link Posted: 8/10/2007 5:03:37 PM EDT
[#3]
Thanks for the replies so far guys. PAPPYO, that was some good and specific info. This is my neighbor's crossbow, and he will be using it to hunt in Ohio. We dialed it in today and it was really accurate. The trigger was fantastic, better than anything I have on a rifle.