Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/20/2009 10:47:53 AM EDT
I am a pa resident but in the military stationed (living) in nj. Do I need a firearms purchasers card just to posess my firearms? Or is it only needed for purchasing firearms?
Link Posted: 1/20/2009 11:37:11 AM EDT
[#1]
I think if you are living on base youre ok, otherwise I believe you need it. I would call the AG and see if you can get a straight answer from them.
Link Posted: 1/20/2009 12:34:39 PM EDT
[#2]
FID is only needed for purchasing long guns, and for possessing them outside of the exemptions.  What this means for you, is you can possess them where you're living, and can transport them, unloaded and cased, to and from a range, with no stops in between.  Without an FID, long guns are the legal equivalent to handguns, as far as possession goes.  Being .mil doesn't have any bearing on the matter.

You also can't purchase pistol ammunition without an FID - and in some shops, who don't understand the law, or are just playing CYA, you can't buy ANY ammo without it.
Link Posted: 1/20/2009 1:46:00 PM EDT
[#3]
Can you elaborate a little? Lets say I am the average joe and move to nj from pa. I want to bring my long guns over with me. Do I need a FID? What about if I own a pistol in pa and I move to nj...what do I need.

Thanks for the responses.
Link Posted: 1/20/2009 4:27:37 PM EDT
[#4]
You only need a FID card to buy firearms. You already own them legally, so you don't need one. Now if you plan on buying another long gun, you're gonna need to get one, and if you're gonna get a new pistol you're gonna have to apply for a pistol permit as well.
You MAY have a problem buying rifle caliber ammunition without a FID card, even though you legally don't need one. If you're looking for pistol ammo, you're gonna have to have a FID card.
Link Posted: 1/20/2009 6:14:58 PM EDT
[#5]