Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 6/19/2014 2:10:19 PM EDT
Howdy,

My wife's currently in graduate school. Once she's done, we're making a beeline out yer way. Both of us are really fuggin' tired of Michigan. I've spent enough time out in the SW to know that I'm a desert rat at heart. My brothers are down in Phoenix. Neither her nor I are city types, but the Phoenix area would be fine if it came to that. Still better than here. That said, we took a drive up that way when we were out there in March and we both felt very much at home in the area of central AZ. Good mix of the sticks and small town. Friendly people. Found the breweries right quick. Eventually, we want some acreage, so there's that. She's in the medical field and I'm a lab rat/materials scientist with a lot of other experience, so, if any two people can land jobs anywhere, it would probably be us.

So what can you folks tell me about the Payson/Pine/Strawberry and surrounding areas? Weather: Y'all get snow, but nothing compared to what we get in MI. Heat's no problem for us. What are the economy and housing markets looking like? Rent? Cost of living? Lots of outdoors options, which is very appealing. 4x4 and hiking trails?

Cheers!
Link Posted: 6/19/2014 6:46:04 PM EDT
I grew up in Payson. Not much in the way of industry/shopping/restaurants etc. Lots to do outdoors and that is about it. Good luck finding affordable acreage
Link Posted: 6/19/2014 11:28:25 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 6/19/2014 11:32:22 PM EDT by freeride21a]
Pine/Strawberry are the hidden gems up there. They are about 1000ft+ higher than Payson and stay a tad cooler in summer. They get snow, but not enough to really stop things.

As for work, you are 90-100 mi from Scottsdale or Mesa.. but its all down hill haha.