Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 5/2/2018 2:11:07 PM EDT
As long as it doesn't have the ability to hold more than 10 rounds and it's a regular pistol I should be GtG right? I have a older Walther PP and a Makarov that both fit that description. We will be traveling in a RV and I know I can't CC, just looking for something to keep in the "house". Thanks all.
Link Posted: 5/2/2018 3:01:12 PM EDT
Not sure if your RV will be considered a "residence" so I don't know if the regular laws requiring it to be in a locked container while being transported in a vehicle will apply.
Link Posted: 5/2/2018 3:09:30 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 5/3/2018 2:04:08 AM EDT by Trollslayer]
I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice.

From what I recall -

1. Legally, your RV is your "home". So is your camp site.

You are entitled to possess and carry in any mode you want while in your "home", including concealed carry.

You are legally allowed to defend yourself and your loved ones from grievous harm or possible death while in your home, even in California.

There are some places that will differ from the above but those places will have the restrictions posted at the entrance (Yosemite NP?). When in doubt, research before arrival. At the very least, ask at the gate.

2. You can bring any handgun you want, as long as it does NOT qualify as an assault weapon under California law.

No barrel shroud, no threaded muzzle, no magazine outside the grip, etc.

Handgun capacity is irrelevant but magazine capacity is not (see item 3 below).

3. DO NOT bring magazines that can hold more than 10 rounds.
Link Posted: 5/3/2018 1:22:20 PM EDT