Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/12/2010 8:47:49 AM EDT
...to buy a six-pack for the game, and some real-deal Sudafed for this sinus cold I've got. Now, Mississippi recently passed a law that requires any purchaser of ephedrine-containing products to have a prescription. Hence why we stopped at a Mobile-area pharmacy.

My wife and I walked to the counter, and I told the lady I wanted something with the "real" Sudafed for my cold. She asked me if I had an AL license, which I of course do not, being a MS resident. She then told me she could not sell me Sudafed without a prescription, because I was a MS resident.

W.T.F., over?

So after a short rant about how I was going to have to write my congressman about this, she takes my MS DL and swipes it through the card reader, saying, "We can try it and see if it records your info. Most MS licenses don't read, but we'll try." I thanked her profusely for her kindness, and a short while later, I had my Sudafed––apparently the bar code on my DL worked. I thanked her again, then told her I wished we'd keep meth heads locked up instead of punishing the majority of honest citizens.

Long story short, if any of you MS folks go to AL to buy some Sudafed, be prepared to be denied or wait a few extra minutes. I will be writing Gene Taylor about how inconvenienced law-abiding citizens are, because the state refuses to keep meth cooks in prison. This crap has gotten rediculous.
Link Posted: 9/12/2010 8:55:35 AM EDT
[#1]
Quoted: I will be writing Gene Taylor about how inconvenienced law-abiding citizens are, because the state refuses to keep meth cooks in prison. This crap has gotten rediculous.

I wrote him recently to tell him that I would be voting his ass straight out of office.  

Link Posted: 9/12/2010 9:19:52 AM EDT
[#2]