Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
Posted: 10/4/2004 6:22:59 PM EST
Itried searching the forum but I couldn't find directions to this sloan place you guys keep talking about.

After driving 40 minuets out to bouldercity just to find out that there was a cowboy shoot this weekend, I'm looking for a new place to shoot.
Is it legal to shoot at sloan? Is it safe? And how do I get there from the Nellis AFB area?

Thanks guys, sorry if you've answered this question befor, but I'm a noob.

Tight Lines,
Sgt Bennett
Link Posted: 10/4/2004 10:12:55 PM EST
Leatherpuke, if you're looking for a place to shoot, go up toward Apex, just go up LV Blvd and keep going under the rail overpass and you'll see a dry lake off to the left. When you see the old rail way watering station make a left on the dirt road and there you are. Ive shot out there for years. No one has ever bothered me out there. I always have someone with me. By the way are you Air Force, if so, what squadron. Im SFS.
Link Posted: 10/5/2004 5:12:34 AM EST
Nope, I'm Active Army.

I've heard about apex, but a N. Las Vegas cop told me once that it was illegal to shoot out there. Something about an off duty cop being killed by a stray round a few years ago.

I'll check it out anyway.

By the way, did you know that the old range out by the National Guard center is open to Active duty members? I ran into a guy shooting out there once who told me you just have to check in with the rod&gun club to get access. I'm trying to confirm that now but the rod&gun club is only open a few days a week.

Thanks for the tip.
Link Posted: 10/5/2004 9:04:48 AM EST