Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 10/6/2003 8:19:37 PM EDT
Depending on a job interview next week, I have the potential to move to the Tucson area.

I'm hoping some locals can help me out with the following
1) What are the CCW requirements? I'm a certified NRA instructor in Pistol and have a current CCW in VA. Would I need anything additional to get set up in AZ?
2) Any good ranges in Tucson area?
3) Any recommendation on what part(s) Tucson to consider for purchasing a home? I had preliminary information on a community named Rivergate if that is corrrect.
4) What's the political environment of Tucson like?
5) Are there any wierd regulations that a new resident should be aware of that they may not now.
6) Any other general information you care to share about the Tucson or Arizona. Any gang activity?

Thanks in advance everyone!
Link Posted: 10/7/2003 8:05:06 AM EDT
CCW requires:

16 hours of class
Passing a background check
Some cash

Best range near Tucson (IMHO) is the Tucson Rifle Club (see RANGES) tacked above. There are two indoor ranges, Jensen's on the West side, and one who's name escapes me on the East side. There's a range on the far East side I haven't been to.

Best area in Tucson seems to be the rapidly growing Northwest, though pretty much any area is good with the exception of the South side

Tucson, politically, is unfortunately pretty liberal, which I blame on the large percentage of 1st-generation children of Mexican immigrants who occupy both elected and hired positions in government and see government as a benevolent parent. With deep pockets.

Weird regulations? Well, OPEN CARRY is legal and requires no permit! If you're into Class III the local Sherrif signs the Form 4's with no problems.

Gang activity is largely restricted to the South Side. Pay is, compared to the rest of the nation, low, but then so is the cost of living.

Who's interveiwing?