Warning

 

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 6/5/2009 3:26:38 PM EST
[Last Edit: 6/5/2009 3:30:29 PM EST by Hooahken]
Two important bills in comittee right now please call your senator and ask that tey request they come to the floor for a vote!!
Link Posted: 6/5/2009 5:03:56 PM EST
Word on the street is that the SB 1113, the restaurant carry bill, is going to be amended ON MONDAY to make it CCW only. And who is pushing the amendment?

Three guesses, and they spell NRA.

Apparently the NRA is backing the CCW-only amendment because, well, that's been their blueprint for this type of legislation in the past, and it's been passed in many states.

Here's yet another example of the NRA riding in on their white horse and "saving" us.

I have a theory about all that, but it's just that...a theory. The NRA had their convention here, you see, so all of a sudden they need to exert some authority for bringing the $70 million into the local economy, especially after basically not doing anything here for a couple years...letting the AzCDL do all the heavy lifting.

Now, the AzCDL gets a good bill into committee, with a reasonably good chance of passing, but it doesn't fit the NRA mold of what they should do, and also you can let some upstarts take TOO much credit, especially right after the annual convention. So, pressure to amend the bill.

Their other argument is that restaurants will just not post after such an amended bill gets signed...which we know is bull. A restaurant will post or not post at the behest of the owner, not whether or not someone can see a gun. Those was would post will do, and would so, so anyway.

While some might find favor in the CCW-only restaurant carry option, it goes further than that. By focusing on the CCW-only aspect, it further makes second-class citizens of those who don't, won't, or can't have a CCW permission slip. What this means is that the NRA is very likely to either not help, or maybe even try and kill, "Alaska" carry here in Arizona. The NRA CCW instructor guild is certainly one reason, but I have been told the NRA just doesn't like that idea at all.

So much for "shall not be infringed".

Below are the email addresses of the Senate Judiciary committee. The amendment is supposed to be proposed on Monday. Wouldn't it be interesting if the committee members came into work Monday morning to a whole bunch of email indicating that amending the bill isn't fair for ALL gun owners, and make second-class citizens of over 50% of the gun-owning population who don't have a CCW?

If you write, be polite, but be firm.

Semi-colon format:
jpaton@azleg.gov; jhuppenthal@azleg.gov; mburtoncahill@azleg.gov ; kcheuvront@azleg.gov; cgray@azleg.gov; rmiranda@azleg.gov; rpearce@azleg.gov

Comma format:
jpaton@azleg.gov, jhuppenthal@azleg.gov, mburtoncahill@azleg.gov, kcheuvront@azleg.gov, cgray@azleg.gov, rmiranda@azleg.gov, rpearce@azleg.gov

Finally, here's an article of a bill that was passed in TN over the governor's veto...also an NRA-sponsored CCW-only bill.



http://www.azcentral.com/news/articles/2009/06/05/20090605GunsInBars05-ON.html

Tenn. lawmakers OK guns in bars

Jun. 5, 2009 06:40 AM

Associated Press

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - Handguns will soon be allowed in bars and restaurants in Tennessee under a new law passed by state legislators who voted to override the governor's veto.

The legislation that takes effect July 14 retains an existing ban on consuming alcohol while carrying a handgun, and restaurant owners can still opt to ban weapons from their establishments.

Thirty-seven other states have similar laws.
The state Senate voted 21-9 on Thursday against Democratic Gov. Phil Bredesen's veto, a day after the House also voted 69-27 to override.

They overrode critics, including Bredesen, who said it's a bad idea to have guns and alcohol in close proximity.

Democratic Sen. Doug Jackson, the main sponsor of the bill, said state Safety Department records show handgun permit holders in Tennessee are responsible.

Of the roughly 218,000 handgun permit holders in Tennessee, 278 had their permits revoked last year, records show. Since 2005, state records shows nearly 1,200 people have lost their permits.

Revocations are issued for felony convictions, while permits can be suspended for pending criminal charges or for court orders of protection.

Sen. Andy Berke, D-Chattanooga, was the only senator to speak against overriding the veto Thursday.

"I believe that we should follow the governor and rethink what we have done," he said.

The law, which was supported by the National Rifle Association, has been successful in other states, its chief lobbyist said.

"Of those 37 states, not one state has attempted to repeal or amend those statutes because they've been successful," Chris Cox said.

Bredesen spokeswoman Lydia Lenker said after Wednesday's House vote that the Democratic governor expected an override when he vetoed the legislation last week.

Following Thursday's Senate vote, Bredesen, who is a gun owner and hunter, reiterated his stance to reporters.

"I still think I'm right," he said. "I still think that guns in bars is a very bad idea. It's an invitation to a disaster."
Link Posted: 6/11/2009 8:53:28 PM EST
Arizona Senate to Consider Pro-Second Amendment Bills Tomorrow!

Please Contact Your State Senator Immediately!



The Arizona Senate will be considering two NRA-backed bills, Senate Bill 1113 and Senate Bill 1243, for a vote in the Caucus of the Whole tomorrow.



The entire body of the Senate will be determining what amendments will be added to these bills. There will be ONLY one NRA-sponsored amendment that we want added onto SB1113. We do not want any amendments added on to SB1243. It is very important that NRA members voice their support for these bills and ONLY the NRA-backed amendment for SB1113.



SB1113, introduced by State Senator Jack Harper (R-4), would enable concealed weapons permit holders to carry concealed handguns in restaurants that serve alcohol, provided they are not consuming. Senator Harper, the restaurant industry, and NRA have worked to craft new language that will be used in place of the previous proposed posting requirements.

SB1243, sponsored by State Senator Russell Pearce (R-18), would clarify the statutory definition of defensive display of a firearm. This clarification of defensive display of a firearm is a valuable addition to your right to self-defense.



Please contact your State Senator TODAY and respectfully urge them to support SB1113 with the NRA-sponsored amendment and SB1243 without any amendments. Contact information can be found below.



State Senator Paula Aboud (D-28)

(602)-926-5262

paboud@azleg.gov



State Senator Amanda Aguirre (D-24)

(602)-926-4139

aaguirre@azleg.gov



State Senator Carolyn S. Allen (R-8)

(602)-926-4480

callen@azleg.gov



State Senator Sylvia Allen (R-5)

(602)-926-5219

sallen@azleg.gov



State Senator Manuel V. “Manny” Alvarez (D-25)

(602)-926-5895

malvarez@azleg.gov



State Senator Robert “Bob” Burns (D-9) – President

(602)-926-5993

rburns@azleg.gov



State Senator Meg Burton Cahill (D-17)

(602)-926-4124

mburtoncahill@azleg.gov



State Senator Ken Cheuvront (D-15)

(602)-926-5325

kcheuvront@azleg.gov



State Senator Jorge Luis Garcia (D-27) – Minority Leader

(602)-926-4171

jgarcia@azleg.gov

State Senator Pamela Gorman (R-6) – Majority Whip

(602)-926-5284

pgorman@azleg.gov



State Senator Ron Gould (R-3)

(602)-926-4138

rgould@azleg.gov



State Senator Chuck Gray (R-19) – Majority Leader

(602)-926-5288

cgray@azleg.gov



State Senator Linda Gray (R-10)

(602)-926-3376

lgray@azleg.gov



State Senator Albert Hale (D-2)

(602)-926-4323

ahale@azleg.gov



State Senator Jack W. Harper (R-4)

(602)-926-4178

jharper@azleg.gov



State Senator John Huppenthal (R-20)

(602)-926-5261

jhuppenthal@azleg.gov



State Senator Leah Landrum Taylor (D-16)

(602)-926-3830

Llandrumtaylor@azleg.gov



State Senator Barbara Leff (R-11)

(602)-926-4486

bleff@azleg.gov



State Senator Linda Lopez (D-29) – Minority Whip

(602)-926-4089

llopez@azleg.gov



State Senator Debbie McCune Davis (D-14)

(602)-926-4485

dmccunedavis@azleg.gov



State Senator Al Melvin (R-26)

(602)-926-4326

amelvin@azleg.gov



State Senator Richard Miranda (D-13)

(602)-926-5911

rmiranda@azleg.gov



State Senator John Nelson (R-12)

(602)-926-5872

jnelson@azleg.gov



State Senator Jonathan Paton (R-30)

(602)-926-3235

jpaton@azleg.gov



State Senator Russell Pearce (R-18)

(602)-926-5760

rpearce@azleg.gov



State Senator Steve Pierce (R-1)

(602)-926-5584

spierce@azleg.gov



State Senator Rebecca Rios (D-23) – Assistant Minority Leader

(602)-926-5685

rrios@azleg.gov



State Senator Jay Tibshraeny (R-21)

(602)-926-4481

jtibshraeny@azleg.gov



State Senator Thayer Verschoor (R-22) – President Pro Tempore

(602)-926-4136

tverschoor@azleg.gov



State Senator Jim Waring (R-7)

(602)-926-4916

jwaring@azleg.gov

Link Posted: 6/12/2009 5:58:23 PM EST
We have any word on exactly which weasel managed to get the amendment placed into SB 111?3
Link Posted: 6/12/2009 10:12:54 PM EST
Lets hope this thing gets through!
Link Posted: 6/15/2009 7:14:11 PM EST
Failed today. (6/15)

Link to other thread: http://www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=8&f=13&t=365782
Top Top