Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Posted: 1/16/2015 12:33:36 PM EST
From January 2011 until August of 2013 I was an IT contractor working in Afghanistan. I returned home permanently on August 29.
The very next day I met some friends for happy hour to celebrate my homecoming and also a new job I was offered earlier that day.
Unfortunately I made a bad decision and drove home that evening. Needless to say I was pulled over. There was NO accident involved and I am very grateful for that.
Ultimately, I plead guilty to DWI, (class A misdemeanor) and got a years probation, fine, and other misc things.
I have never had any previous issues with law enforcement and this is the only thing I have ever been arrested for.
I have been on probation for a year and it ends the middle of next month. I go back to court to get an order to remove the ignition interlock from my truck and then I am completely finished.

My question is this: at some point I would like to get a CHL. Is there a waiting period between when this case is over and when I can take the class and apply for a CHL?
Link Posted: 1/16/2015 12:50:04 PM EST
Law says you must wait 5 years after the date you were convicted. Even then you might be given the title of "chemically dependent person" for earning a Class A versus B misdemeanor DUI.

"DWI is at least a Class B misdemeanor, and you are ineligible for a license for five years after a conviction for a Class A or B misdemeanor or disorderly conduct. This includes cases that were dismissed after you completed probation or deferred adjudication."
Link Posted: 1/16/2015 12:52:54 PM EST
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By refidnasb:
Law says you must wait 5 years after the date you were convicted. Even then you might be given the title of "chemically dependent person" for earning a Class A versus B misdemeanor DUI.