Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 1/12/2015 3:50:41 PM EST
So I'm opening a bar in Houston. More of a gastropub. The project is in the works and I can't discuss the details yet, but I have 10 years of experience operating successful food and beverage establishments in various markets so it'll be awesome. I might be getting ahead of myself, because I'm still in talks with a few potential investors, but there's a few things I think my fellow Texas Arfcomers can start helping me with, or give me some ideas on:

1. Even though we are serving food, we will likely be a 51% establishment. However, IF POSSIBLE, I would like to allow concealed carry at my bar if there is some DISCRETE and LEGAL way of granting it to people I know and people on this forum so that they don't break the law when coming in. Like for example, if you message me on here and we meet, I issue you a letter saying that the owner has granted you permission to carry. And I don't want to be known as the bar that allows concealed carry either. People with permission granted may not share this information with others. I just want people with CHLs to not have to leave their guns in the car when coming in. My reading of the laws relating to CHL and the Alcoholic Beverage code doesn't seem to allow for this possibility at all, so I throw it to you guys to see if there's any way a Pro-gun bar owner can help his pro-gun customers. It seems my rights as an owner-operator doesn't trump the laws restricting carry. Any ideas? Lawyer recommendations? If you wanted to carry at my bar, could you just go get hired by a security contractor that I will use, and say that technically my bar is premise under your control? I'm just thinking of all possibilities here...