Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/2/2011 5:48:07 PM EDT

Well I have been a free man for over a year now.  I do like PA for the most part.  My state allows me to have the option to carry a firearm for self defense.  I can buy ammunition without a license.  No more NJ PPP, NJFID, 30 day wait between hand gun purchase.  
Freedom is great.  However it does have it's pit falls.  I work in a small gun shop.  Every day I get people in form NJ and NY/NYC.  I am asked what does it take to buy a gun in PA:
"I hear all I have to is pay cash"  People get upset when I tell them their state's firearms laws follows them.
"What do you mean I can not buy this handgun I am a cop in NYC" as he flashes me his badge.  
"What if I have a Sulfolk carry permit can I then buy this handgun."
"If my cousin comes in he lives in PA can he buy this hand gun for me?"
"Can a .380 kill a bear?"
"I am a cop in NJ, can I buy this AR?" He points to a M4 clone, with 30rd mag, telestock, flash hider, bayonet lug.  He gets very up set that I cant sell it to him.  He then shouts "Well I am cop and I think you are wrong."  I tell him about the NJ Assault Weapon's ban, and the number of features  that you can and can not have.  He wants to know where I got my information from.  I hand over a copy of the law printed off the NJSP Firearms Investigation Unit's web site.  I tell him "it can be found in your book on New Jersey statutes you may want to read it sometime."
"Can you run my back ground I want to see if I can buy a gun"  Sir/Ma'am you will have a better idea of what you history is.  We do not just run back ground checks.
"I have had 4 DUIs can I buy a gun? FYI  If you are imprisoned in PA for more then 365days you are considered a felon.  
PA has plenty of it's own trash too.