Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 8/23/2004 4:59:08 PM EST
Hey there....

Virginian here looking possibly to relocate to the Atlanta Metro area. It is job related and ideally, I would like a 30 or less commute to Hartsfield Airport (I work in the Aviation sector). I can deal with as long as 60 minutes, but I'd like to stay away from that if at all possible.

Here is the rub:

I currently live in N. Virgina and have a 10 yr old son. The school system here is great and I'd like to keep that standard when relocating. I understand that the school systems up in "the north end" (Alpharetta/Roswell/Marietta areas) are good to go, but, the housing in these areas is getting to be like NoVA ($400K just for a townhouse and such). The areas to the south, southwest, and southeast have great new subdivisions with good home prices, but, the school systems are not up to par. The issue of schools is paramount above all else. Yes, I can place my son in a private school, but, what I gain in lower mortgage payments, I lose in school tuition costs.

If I am going to spend NoVA money on a house, I might as well stay in Va, right?

Looking for insight, advice, etc.....

Thanks........
Link Posted: 8/23/2004 5:27:04 PM EST
Last time I checked Fayette County schools were ranked pretty high. Fayetteville is about a half hour drive to the airport. Henry County schools (Mcdonough area) are supposed to be good as well. Mcdonough is probably about a 45 minute drive to the airport. Peachtreecity is another Fayette county city with good schools IFIRC, but Peachtreecity is a planned community with some fairly expensive housing.

Good luck and hope you find what you need.
Link Posted: 8/23/2004 5:29:11 PM EST

Originally Posted By mo4040: