Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/23/2006 8:06:05 PM EDT
After talking with the VP's assistant a little under 3 weeks ago, I am scheduled to talk to Virginia Tech's Vice President of Business Affairs tomorrow in regards to the campus firearms policy.  Apparently, "Business Affairs" is a fancy name for "Security and Infrastructure."

First, a little background about myself.  I'm 20 years old, so I don't have a permit and I don't even own a pistol.  I'm a Mechanical Engineering student here at VT who has two big interests in cars and guns.  One of the things I enjoy most is taking someone to the shooting range who has never been before.  I don't drink (never been drunk) and I don't smoke anything (never tried it).  I take life seriously, and my personal security is no exception.

My goal is that citizens who have gone through the proper and difficult process of obtaining a Concealed Carry Permit should be allowed to carry on campus.  Virginia Tech has been wrongfully represented by 3 people on this stance, one was a spokesperson, one a faculty member, and one is the Chief of Police.  The wrong voices are being heard.

It was fairly easy to convince the first person I talked to, but I think the road is going to be rough as hell from here on out.  The odds of this actually getting through to a policy change are slim to none, but I'll kick myself if I don't try.  I don't really know the process of how policy changes at this college work, but I should have an update up tomorrow for you guys.

I'm tired of people my age who believe that protection for their life is a "just a phone call away."

Wish me luck, and I'll keep you guys posted on the progress I may or may not be having.

Austen Schwend
Link Posted: 2/23/2006 8:52:12 PM EDT
[#1]
Good Luck!