Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/5/2012 4:45:41 PM EDT
To begin I do not hold a current WI permit, I only open carry. I do so currently because I don't believe I need the state's blessing to arm myself, and my current piece is just not practical for concealment (full size railed 1911 with light, it's all I have). My mind may change down the road, but please don't berate me for my carry choices, that's not why I'm posting.

This evening myself and another Arfcommer are heading home out of Waupaca. I do as I've done very often in the past, which is stop at a little gas station and truck stop restaurant (they do not serve alcohol) on 54 to get some smokes and coffee. I've done this 20+ times in the past, always armed, with no comment from the employees. They are not posted.

Tonight while checking out, the cashier asks me if I'm a police officer, to which I reply no. Then she asks me (politely) not to carry in the store any longer, as they sell alcohol, and it's against the law. Well......I'm not a lawyer, and don't know every little nuance of carry law, and this is a private business, so I say no problem. Take my stuff and go.

I know I'm not to be walking into taverns or restaurants that serve alcohol while OCing, however, this is something that hasn't occurred to me as of yet. Am I breaking the law by OCing in gas stations or grocery stores that sell alcohol?
Link Posted: 1/5/2012 4:49:00 PM EDT
[#1]
I am reasonably sure a non permit holder may not have a firearm in a place that sells alcohol.  Only permit holders may be armed in such place and only when not consuming.  

from the CCW FAQ at the WI DoJ site

Persons who do not have a CCW permit may not carry a handgun in a tavern and those persons with a CCW license may carry a concealed handgun in a tavern only if NOT consuming alcohol. Wis. Stat. § 941.237(3)(cx).