Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 9/4/2004 8:36:09 AM EDT
This was the original whitepaper that was circulated under the table here on AR15.com back in the days of AB2222. It may still be applicable.

Here it is:

Everyone,

First, you should know that I'm not condoning illegal activity including any activity that involves illegally registering AWs in California. I'm only interested in legally registering AWs. Nothing more. I'm not a lawyer and nor am I giving out legal advice. Any action you take is entirely your decision. If you are uncertain of the legality of your actions, you should consult an attorney.

The event that I vaguely referred to is the introduction of Assembly bill 2222 (AB2222). You probably have heard about this. This is the ban of falsely-claimed 50bmg sniper rifles that, as once claimed, can destroy a tank at a distance of a mile. AB2222 has been introduced in the CA Assembly and has already gone through one revision in committee. The NRA, including the CA chapter- CALNRA, has been stating that this bill puts 50bmg rifles in the same classification as machine guns. While this may be literally accurate, it is not exactly right. AB2222, as I read it, clearly requires the CA DOJ to extend the AW registration databse to include any firearm that shoots the 50bmg cartridge or any cartridge with similar dimensions as defined in the bill. It also requires that the CA DOJ allow CA residents a registration period as originally defined by SB23. In this case, the registration period is to be the first 90 days of calendar 2003. Lawful possession within the state must be no later than December 31st of 2002.