Warning

 

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/19/2017 7:27:10 PM
Posted: 2/8/2006 5:09:15 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 2/8/2006 5:13:08 PM EDT by Phil_in_Seattle]

GOAL Alert 4-2006

ACTION NEEDED TO STOP SSB 6598

In GOAL Post 2006-5 I erroneously reported that SB 6598, a bill to ban
hunting in parts of Island County, had died in committee. In fact, the
bill was amended in the Senate Natural Resources, Ocean and Recreation
Committee and sent on to the Senate Ways & Means Committee as Substitute
Senate Bill (SSB) 6598. Senate Ways & Means has forwarded the bill to
the Senate Rules Committee for movement to the full Senate for a floor vote.

SSB 6598 is even worse than the original bill. The substitute language
changes “hunting” to “shooting.” Rather than prohibit hunting during
limited seasons, SSB 6598 would prohibit ALL shooting activities in
designated areas.

Shooting activities in selected portions of Island County is a hot issue
right now. But state law recognizes expanding population patterns and
grants the authority to the County Commissioners to prohibit or restrict
recreational shooting (but not self defense) where safety issues are a
concern. That authority is clearly given by:


RCW 9.41.300



(2) Cities, towns, counties, and other municipalities may enact laws and
ordinances:

(a) Restricting the discharge of firearms in any portion of their
respective jurisdictions where there is a reasonable likelihood that
humans, domestic animals, or property will be jeopardized. Such laws and
ordinances shall not abridge the right of the individual guaranteed by
Article I, section 24 of the state Constitution to bear arms in defense
of self or others;

SSB 6598 is an attempt by a small but vocal number of citizens (and
their Senator) to circumvent the statutory process established by RCW
9.41.300(2) and jump over the heads of the elected County Commissioners
to the state legislature. Who knows better what conditions exist within
a given county? The County Commissioners who live right there or
legislators from all over the state sitting down 100 miles away in Olympia?

SSB 6598 is also a subtle attempt to split bow hunters from gun hunters.
By prohibiting shooting in these areas, it effectively creates
“bow-hunting only” zones. No matter what your preferred method of
hunting is, we have to stick together on issues like these.

If SSB 6598 becomes law, where does it stop? Today Island County,
tomorrow…?

SSB 6598 is bad law. SSB 6598 sets a bad precedent. Allow the County
Commissioners to do their job and keep the state legislature out of
local issues.

Please call YOUR Senator today and ask them to vote “no” on SSB 6598 if
it goes to the full Senate for a vote.

Your Senator can be reached toll free through the Legislative Hotline at
(800) 562-6000.

Please call or e-mail the following members of the Senate Rules
Committee and ask them to vote “no” on SSB 6598:

LtGov Brad Owen (360) 786-7700 owen.brad@leg.wa.gov

Rosa Franklin (360) 786-7656 franklin.rosa@leg.wa.gov

Mike Hewitt (360) 786-7630 hewitt.mike@leg.wa.gov

Lisa Brown (360) 786-7604 brown.lisa@leg.wa.gov

Mark Doumit (360) 786-7636 doumit.mark@leg.wa.gov

Tracey Eide (360) 786-7658 eide.tracey@leg.wa.gov

Luke Esser (360) 786-7694 esser.luke@leg.wa.gov

Bill Finkbeiner (360) 786-7672 finkbeiner.bill@leg.wa.gov

Karen Fraser (360) 786-7642 fraser.karen@leg.wa.gov

M. M. Haugen (360) 786-7618 haugen.marymargaret@leg.wa.gov

Jim Honeyford (360) 786-7684 honeyford.jim@leg.wa.gov

Stephen Johnson (360) 786-7692 johnson.stephen@leg.wa.gov

Adam Kline (360) 786-7688 kline.adam@leg.wa.gov

Jeanne Kohl-Welles (360) 786-7670 kohl-welles.jeanne@leg.wa.gov

Linda Evans Parlette (360) 786-7622 parlette.linda@leg.wa.gov

Debbie Regala (360) 786-7652 regala.debbie@leg.wa.gov

Harriet Spanel (360) 786-7678 spanel.harriet@leg.wa.gov

Val Stevens (360) 786-7676 stevens.val@leg.wa.gov

Pat Thibaudeau (360) 786-7628 thibaudeau.pat@leg.wa.gov

Joseph Zarelli (360) 786-7634 zarelli.joseph@leg.wa.gov

Link Posted: 2/8/2006 6:00:54 PM EDT

The preservation of the sacred fire of liberty, and the destiny of the republican model of government, are justly considered deeply, perhaps as finally, staked on the experiment entrusted to the hands of the American people.

George Washington, First Inaugural Address, April 30, 1789

Link Posted: 2/9/2006 6:29:29 AM EDT
Done. Sent this letter to the folks on the GOAL list:

Dear ,

I am writing today to ask that you join me in opposing
SSB 6598.

Shooting activities are a hot issue in Island County
right now, with the rights to shoot and hunt being
under significant attack. Existing state law
(RCW 9.41.300) already provides County Commisioners
the tools they need to deal with conficts of
interest regarding land use and those Commisioners
are the people best qualified to determine what
actions are appropriate for the situation.

SSB 6598, on the other hand, appears to be an attempt
by a small group of citizens (and their Senator)to
circumvent that local control by taking it
over at the state level. Worse, it regulates
recreational shooting in addition to the original
question of hunting.

This is a bad law and unfair. Please help us
stop it!

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,
Link Posted: 2/9/2006 9:53:13 AM EDT
Thanks yet again for passing on the GOAL Post, Phil.

It was a lot of writing, but I individually e-mailed each person on that list. Phew! A lot of work, but worth it to protect our rights.

I hope may more WAHTF'ers are busy at their computers firing off e-mails and snail-mails too!

Trey
Link Posted: 2/9/2006 9:54:10 AM EDT

Originally Posted By donbcivil:
Done. Sent this letter to the folks on the GOAL list:

Dear ,

I am writing today to ask that you join me in opposing
SSB 6598.

Shooting activities are a hot issue in Island County
right now, with the rights to shoot and hunt being
under significant attack. Existing state law
(RCW 9.41.300) already provides County Commisioners
the tools they need to deal with conficts of
interest regarding land use and those Commisioners
are the people best qualified to determine what
actions are appropriate for the situation.

SSB 6598, on the other hand, appears to be an attempt
by a small group of citizens (and their Senator)to
circumvent that local control by taking it
over at the state level. Worse, it regulates
recreational shooting in addition to the original
question of hunting.

This is a bad law and unfair. Please help us
stop it!

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,



Nicely done, donbcivil!

Trey
Link Posted: 2/9/2006 3:30:55 PM EDT
My liberal Congresscunt at work.....
Top Top