Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/28/2012 2:55:12 PM EDT
I've been a criminal attorney for about 15 years.  I have heard the terms "constructive intent" and "constructive possession" used ad nauseum when it comes to guns, especially regarding the possession of NFA uppers without the properly registered lower.  I have also discussed the terms with attorneys, judges and LE.

This is not my area of practice but for those of you who use it, could you please point me to the section of the CT statutes, the U.S. Code or any other recognized legal source that gives both the definition of the terms and their application concerning firearms.  Of course, case law, either state or federal , would also be most welcomed.  Thanks.
Link Posted: 3/28/2012 3:41:33 PM EDT
[#1]

Quoted:

I've been a criminal attorney for about 15 years.  I have heard the terms "constructive intent" and "constructive possession" used ad nauseum when it comes to guns, especially regarding the possession of NFA uppers without the properly registered lower.  I have also discussed the terms with attorneys, judges and LE.
This is not my area of practice but for those of you who use it, could you please point me to the section of the CT statutes, the U.S. Code or any other recognized legal source that gives both the definition of the terms and their application concerning firearms.  Of course, case law, either state or federal , would also be most welcomed.  Thanks.

The only state law I have found is in regards to the Assault Weapons Ban and possession of parts that can be used to readily assemble an assault weapon (banned by name or feature).
TonyK in the NFA section of this site can cite you the relevant Federal/NFA info.
WALL OF TEXT & CT General Statutes
Click To View Spoiler
What is the definition of "rapidly" ??

Link Posted: 3/28/2012 3:42:18 PM EDT
[#2]
Look at the slidefire stock thread
Andrapos referenced it