Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 9/11/2005 3:11:38 AM EDT
My daughter, who lives with her mom right now, is considering several universities. On the short list is CNU.

Does anyone know the deal on CNU? We drove up there and looked around, and it sure looks nice. I've checked out their website, but I'd like to hear from people who went or know someone who has, as to just how good a school is it? Quality of instruction, how safe it is, would you rather have gone somewhere else, if you did go somewhere else why? That sort of thing.

It's not like I'm expecting Harvard at the prices they're charging, but obviously I don't want my daughter going to some flea-bag dump either.
Link Posted: 9/11/2005 7:49:56 AM EDT
high crime area. My wife got her degree from there a few years back. I'd recommend ODU (full disclosure:I'm a CS student at ODU) over CNU any day for quality of instruction.
Link Posted: 9/11/2005 7:43:23 PM EDT

My wife got a degree in Elementary Education from Christopher Newport College in 1991, before their conversion to a university. Some time ago, former VA Senator Paul Trible became the school's president, and they've been expanding their facilities greatly since then. I'm afraid my wife's experience has little relevance to CNU as it exists today.

About 4 years ago, I moved from Newport News. I lived about 10 minutes from CNU. I've never considered that area a high crime area.

Does your daughter have an idea of a particular major? Someone might have more specific input.

Good luck.

Mark

Link Posted: 9/11/2005 8:39:16 PM EDT

Originally Posted By joshki:
high crime area

I live only a few miles away, it's not a high crime area as far as I'm concerned.

The school has come a very long way since Paul Trible came to town. He's a good man.

Link Posted: 9/11/2005 11:29:05 PM EDT

Originally Posted By joshki: